Tools in abundance at Topton

This year has proven to be one of my best in terms of good finds. My best site in Topton has already shown me three perfect axe heads among a number of other finished tools and artifacts. One in particular I just have to show off. Shown here is a fully grooved hard stone axe head which seems to have been saved from the local farming equipment just in time. This artifact shows ancient wear and notably is among the smaller size of similar axe heads I have found. While not as rare as the skull crusher I have plans to document soon, this is still a great example of a well made stone axe head that would have served a variety of useful purpose to the natives in circa. This find also further proves the settlement and helps to reinforce the culmination of a nearly decade long research effort into the area. 

        

Leave a comment